Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
BC3S
670 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Full Vinyl Wrapped GTO

started with the roof as seen here: http://www.3si.org/forum/f119/vinyl-wrapped-my-roof-pillars-664913/
and decided to do the whole car. this is my first time wrapping and i have no prior experience.

materials:
-5x75sqft gloss red wrap $380 [20sqft left over]
-5x30sqft satin black wrap $100 [10sqft left over]
-squeegee $5
-utility knife $5
-isopropyl alcohol $10
-heat gun $20
-lots of microfiber towels $10

pick an easy panel - example the roof - and play with the materials till you get the hang of it. took me 4 times on the roof, but the rest of the body was 1st try each time. i made lots of mistakes and tried to hide them as best as possible. there are imperfections here and there when you come up close to it, but from far it looks good. A professional would do a much nicer job but would cost as much as a paint job.

this specific red (vvivid gloss blood red) is interesting. it looks pink under LED light (my phone), orange under florescent light (garage lights), and a beautiful vibrant red under sunlight (can be seen at the rear bumper complete shot). blends with the stock red nicely so my door jams and engine bay aren't contrasting.

pictures: http://imgur.com/a/RN2bZ#0
<html><iframe class="imgur-album" width="100%" height="550" frameborder="0" src="//imgur.com/a/RN2bZ/embed"></iframe></html>

this is very time consuming, took me nearly 100hrs to do the whole car, doing a panel a day on weekends. the worse panels are the mirrors, sideskirts and front/rear bumper. mirrors/sideskirts each took me about 3-4hrs. rear bumper 5hrs, front bumper 6hrs. as with any paint work, prep is crucial. the panels must be spotless and without oil/grease and flat. any blemish come right through.