Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
4,213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am a mitsu tech in ny and i have a 1991 vr4 that makes pretty good power. as you all know, the output shaft is the weak link to getting this power to the road. what good is an all wheel drive without pulling rippin holeshots?? i am on my 3rd $300 dollar output shaft. they last a few runs then break. right now ive been running the 18 spline, i know the later ones have the large 25 spline. before working for mitsu, i was a machinist for a race engine shop( thats how i tricked out my own engine) i have the connections to people that can make a shaft out of super alloys used in top fuel trans and axles. this shaft can be up to 10 times stronger than the carbon steel shaft thats in there. ive tried shotpeening heat treating etc. in the end its still carbon steel and breaks. i am getting one made for my car now and i will post the results. what i want to know is who else with 18 spline shafts would be interested in one of these?? it will be cheaper than getting a 25 spline trans and transfer. i also know how to change them in the car in 2 hrs!! (from all of my practice since mine always breaks)

the same can be done for the 25 splines! just think... no breakage or worn splines again!! ill try mine first!

·
chunsangp
3,556 Posts
nice to hear that. Let us know how it goes

·
Registered
4,213 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yes i will let you guys know pricing soon. since this is not an easy task, i may have a few made to cut cost. ill have to take the brunt of the cost on the first one but then ill see what i can do

·
Registered
275 Posts
Where abouts are you located?

D

·
Registered
1,378 Posts
What are you using for output shafts now ---- used stock shafts or the hardened aftermarket one ????

Jim Berry

·
Registered
2,318 Posts