Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry guys ,probably tons of threads out there about this , i just can't find the right one !
So i need to know what i need to put a second gen. engine in a '91 tt?
If someone has the list and step by step inst. it would help me out a lot !
Thank you guys!
Lajos

·
Wrenchmonkey #839
4,979 Posts
Block or entire engine?

Are you swapping the shortblock of the entire engine?

If you are swapping just the 4-bolt main see my webpage:

http://members.aol.com/johnmonnin/6fourbolt1.html

I only swapped the shortblock, if you swap the entire engine then I am not an expert.

The problem with swapping the entire engine is that the crank angle sensor is on the rear head on 1st gen and it is on the front of the crankshaft of the 2nd Gen. This will require some harness changes and maybe a new ECU.

If anyone who has actually done this will clarify, I will update my Webpage.

John Monnin

·
Premium Member
155 Posts
I replaced my '91 rt engine and transmission with a '96 engine and transmission. However, mine is not tt so I am not positive. I had to change out the axles to larger ones so that they would fit in the new tranny. For the engine, all I had to do was rewire the crank angle sensor and the cam sensor so that it would plug into the engine properly. On the 1st gen, they are on the passenger side of the engine, where on the 2nd gen they are on the driver's side. All I did was look at the wiring diagram and match up all of the wires. Took me like five minutes. Otherwise, everything hooked up perfectly.

·
Wrenchmonkey #839
4,979 Posts
Did you have to splice the wires?

gte853y said: