Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
92 stealth rttt. Speedo hasn't worked since I bought the car. I've tried 3 different sensors on the tranny, the square key is there, the plastic gear that goes in the tranny is fine, no flat spots or broken teeth. I have 5.3 volts at my yellow wire that goes to the sensor. 11.5 at the black with white tracer. I've taken the cluster out and put it back in 4 or 5 times to make sure it's seated all the way. I am out of things to look at. Any advice? Thanks in advance gentleman.

·
Premium Member
6,900 Posts
You checked the voltages at the sensor, did you check the ground?

I would tap into the 5v reference wire and see if it's making a signal. You should be able to unscrew it from the trans and turn it by hand to make a signal.

179 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ground read a 0.0.... I'm not a wiring expert by any means. I'm assuming by turn it you mean the square key? So the black with white tracer is the constant and the yellow is what sends a signal to the cluster? Or does it go to the ecm then the cluster?

To add into this my cruise is not working. Nor does the ecs but the ecs is unplugged. Would that have anything to do with it? I read through the other 7 page thread and tried everything there.

·
Premium Member
6,900 Posts
When testing grounds I like to use a test lamp... I want to have enough current flowing to light up bulb, so I know it has a good connection and is capable of carrying current. But at a minumum you should show full battery voltage when connected between the power and ground wires at the speed sensor connector.

The sensor should pull the 5v to ground as it turns... It should cycle between 5 and zero volts as it turns.

179 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
I had the multimeter with the ground touching the battery ground terminal and the red on the yellow wire. I had a constant 5v with the key on and not spinning the sensor. Is that right?

·