Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to 3SI. I have just purchased a base model 92 Stealth that had been sitting in a garage for a while. I have changed plugs, cap, wires, and fuel filter. Engine compression check shows all cylinders within acceptable range dry. The engine has reasonable power considering it is SOHC.

The big problem I can't get past is this shake at cruising RPMs in all gears regardless of speed. The shake goes away when stepping on the clutch or when revving higher than 2500.

I am not able to check the ignition timing right now because the lower pulley has spun about 90 degrees on the harmonic balancer. The inductive timing light indicates this, and I have verified it by finding top of cylinder #1 with the plug out. A new harmonic balancer is on the way from Rock Auto, but I doubt this will solve the shake problem.

Would appreciate any ideas on what may be the cause.

·
Registered
93 NA ATX 3000gt DOHC
2,297 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is this in neutral with clutch out?
The shake occurs at a certain RPM range and doesn't seem to matter whether the car is driving or is sitting still in the garage in neutral. It is much more pronounced and irritating when the car is driving and under load in gear.

Driving 4th gear, flat or inclined road, 50 MPH, engine just under 2000 RPM the shake will be there. Let off the gas and it goes away.

Sitting in the garage at idle the engine is smooth. Rev a little and the engine starts to shake. Rev a lot and the engine smooths back out. The shake is the same stepping on the clutch in gear or in neutral without stepping on the clutch.

Worst part about it is it shakes right in the range you tend to drive at most.

·
Registered
93 NA ATX 3000gt DOHC
2,297 Posts
The shake is the same stepping on the clutch in gear or in neutral without stepping on the clutch.