Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay guys, i'm relatively new to tuning and to 3s's. The previous owner had the SAFC2 tuned by a friend of his. Only thing is, i have an open-atmosphere BOV and was having deceleration idle problems, which i believe isn't super uncommon. So i watched a couple of videos on it, read some of the posts on here and Stealth316, and was able to fix my issue. But since i changed the settings, it backfires (a lot) almost every time i coast in gear. it's not massive, but you can hear it popping away. Can anyone help me with the settings and give me reccomendations on what to set everything at? It's a '91 Stealth, rt/tt. Thanks yall!

PS. mods that might make a difference with the safc-2:
Big Bore 99 lifters, AEM TruBoost controller+gauge, AEM UEGO wideband, Tial Q bov, NGK BPR8EIX iridium plugs, Non-billet DR650's, EGR blocked, Hotwired Walbro 255lph fuel pump, Fabberge FMIC kit, Boomslang harness, 560cc Evo injectors, ATR downpipe + Single Shot, gutted pre-cats

Once again, thank you all!!

· www.cts-racing.com
1993 Stealth RT/TT
4,003 Posts
To confirm. When you're coasting and you are off the throttle it is popping? Does it recovery when you tip in throttle right away? That would be decel fuel; a function of the OEM ecu and not tuneable by the SAFC. (This is of course assuming that the car is properly tune and isn't loading up and causing the popping)

· Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
To confirm. When you're coasting and you are off the throttle it is popping? Does it recovery when you tip in throttle right away? That would be decel fuel; a function of the OEM ecu and not tuneable by the SAFC. (This is of course assuming that the car is properly tune and isn't loading up and causing the popping)