Votes: 4 44.4%
  • Sumitomo HTR Z III

Votes: 5 55.6%
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,959 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm about to buy some rims and i'm looking for a good tire that won't break the bank. i've narrowed my choices down to these 2. i don't like kumho's, michelins, perellis, or yokohamas. i've tried them all and they don't do anything for me. I have personal experience with the bridgestone RE 750, and i believe the 760s are their successor. i loved the 750's. i have no experience with sumitomo's. any personal experience you have would be helpful.

right now, i'm on the fence. the 760's look to be the better performing tire, but the sumitomo's are definitely a lot cheaper and aren't too far off mark from the 760's. i drive spiritedly, but not often. i'm not looking for an autox tire or anything extreme.

thanks!
Tri

·
Registered
5,745 Posts
I'd recommend the 760's. Great highway/cruise tire. Not so great traction compared to NT-05's or * Specs or whatever, but for you, they don't much matter. I've never driven the 760, but I've had a ride in a car with them. I loved the 750s, they were great too.

If you don't mind, what's the price difference? It may be worth going to the Sumitomo's, they're not bad.

·
Premium Member
8,959 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
the sumitomos are 119 each and the bridgestones are 157 each. $38 difference/tire = $152 savings going with the sumitomos. the one thing i don't know is if the sumitomos can last as long as the bridgestones. sumitomos have a 300 tread rating and bridgestones have 340.

·
Premium Member
8,959 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
hmm, looks like the sumitomos are also 4lbs lighter than the bridgestones. i think i'm leaning towards the sumitomos at this point.

·
Premium Member
8,959 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·