Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

New 92' 3000GT Owner, Questions, plans, and everything else

Tags
1992 gt sl
1K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  bboyalan 
#1 ·
Hello all, I am a college student from Akron Ohio that decided on a 1992 3000GT SL as a base for my first project car. I have only ever done minor repairs on cars before but am an engineering major and like to get my hands dirty so I am definitely jumping head deep into a project that I know will take a lot of time and cause a lot of headaches. The car I got is stock all but the hood it seems, it looks to have the EVO style carbon fiber hood, and from what the previous owner knows and what I see, that is true. It is a dead car that I got for $300, The last owner said they bought it broken but they think it was a timing belt jump that killed it. From what I have read on this forum, it sounds like the regular DOHC engines in the non-VR4 models of the GT are interference engines, meaning I will likely have to replace valves and or pistons(I think thats all worst case..?). Assuming I actually get the car working over time and it was only the issue they stated, I have big plans for the final product and am willing to sink probably 10k into it before the end of college if needed.

I plan on recording and taking pictures to document most of the way so I will happily share them here to document my journey with this car and hopefully inspire some other new owners.

Now I am not a car guy. Buying a dead car very well could have been a huge mistake, but I am here and happy to learn, I may have many misconceptions, may not know how complex my plans really are, etc... so bear with me.