Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Best Mod Ever
1,655 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think my clutch is going through the first stage of breaking down, but it could be that I am a shitty driver.
When launching it, the clutch burns and slips. I at first thought it was me, and that I wasn't dropping the clutch fast enough, but sort of slipping it out, usually from around 4k.
The other day though, I was in 6th gear, downshifter into 5th, and got on the gas to pass someone on the interstate....it slipped a little, but no clutch smell,
so, the other day, I decided to almost drop it from 4k at a light.....it slipped pretty bad.
Do I suck, or what?
Car has 26k miles on it.

I am considering purchasing the SBC clutch Jeremy G set up on the group buy.

·
The Reality Of Tomorrow
213 Posts
Is this your first manual car that you've owned (not DRIVEN, but actually owned)? 26k miles is an awfully short lifespan for the stocker (my original clutch started slipping @ 72k), but it is possible if you are slipping it a lot.

-m

·
Best Mod Ever
1,655 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
nope, I owned had a 95 TSi AWD 5-speed before.
Of course, I went through that clutch around 50k miles I think.
After I put in an upgraded clutch, I had NO problems at all out of it.
Maybe I am just too hard on clutches....
Maybe the guy before me drove it rough, but it only had 17k miles on it when I bought it.

·
The Reality Of Tomorrow
213 Posts
ADLER said:
nope, I owned had a 95 TSi AWD 5-speed before.
Of course, I went through that clutch around 50k miles I think.
After I put in an upgraded clutch, I had NO problems at all out of it.
Maybe I am just too hard on clutches....
Maybe the guy before me drove it rough, but it only had 17k miles on it when I bought it.
Powelsound said in his '93 VR4 that he beat the living piss out of his clutch for ~22k miles on top of the 26k it already had when he bought the car.