Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner
1 - 20 of 107 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,311 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is going to be a long description. I have been dealing with a very frustrating intermittent electrical problem on my VR4. I start the car and I will hear the MFI relay click and the car shuts off. Sometimes it is 4-5 seconds after starting, sometimes it can be a few minutes. It seems like when its a cold start it occurs more frequently.

Background:

94 vr4 with 66k miles. I've been running AEM v2 since 2011, self tuned. The issue started last fall after making a TON of changes. In early summer I pulled the motor and sent the trans, diff an my dr750s off to be re-built. While things were away I worked on the motor: Kevlar timing belt, solid tensioner, new Valve Stem Seals, BC 264 Cams, BC adjustable cam gears (degree'd properly), new oil pump, Fluidampr, new clutch, new plugs and a Rvenge Coil on Plug kit. I removed my HKS DLI and my Blitz DSBC and installed an AEM boost solenoid. I also redid some of my intercooler piping to go with a Synapse bov vs the Tial because I was having surge problems with my dr750s. And I updated the firmware in AEM v2 to v25. I boost leak tested everything.

My first start was fine. I was able to top off fluids and let it warm up for 20 minutes before shutting it off. The next day I went to start it again and was having the issue. I thought I had tracked down the issue a few different times, only to be wrong. I believe I had just messed with the car long enough that the motor was warm and the issue wasn't occurring.

First I uninstalled my turbo timer thinking that was it. Next day problem persisted. Then I rolled back firmware on ECU thinking that was it. I actually took the car for a 15 minute drive afterwards without issue. Next day problem persisted. I've since put firmware back on v25. V25 does have engine safety features but I've confirmed they are all disabled.