Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! I have recently purchased a 1991 3000gt VR4 (1 owner car). It has not been run for 6 years. The previous owner kept it garaged, so the paint and exterior look really good for it's age. I'm not a mechanic, but I'm really interested in fixing the car myself.

It ended up having a bad starter motor and a bad ignition switch, so I replaced those, changed the oil, and topped off fluids. Got her started just fine, and ran a couple test drives... until the engine temp spiked suddenly and overheated. I added a bunch of coolant down the radiator filler and let her cool off. I also noticed some pooled coolant in the bottom of the engine compartment.

The coolant is leaking, and I did a radiator cap test, and had coolant spraying out the radiator filler neck (it had a broken hose connector... waiting on a replacement part now). Also, I'm unsure about the entire coolant system, water pump, temp sensor, radiator fan (which I have not seen run yet).

Anyway, that is where I am at with this car so far! Hopefully I won't destroy this car before fixing it. 馃槈

Attachments

Senior **i.e. OLD** Member
First thing I would do is a 60k service (timing belt and associated pulleys and tensioner, WATER pump, plugs, belts and the list can go on).

If you are leaking coolant out the water pump, it could get on the timing belt, stretching it (if you run it) and cause major damage. These are INTERFERENCE engines, in case you didn't know. And if you're not familiar with the term, if your timing belt skips teeth (it only takes a few) your valves will be out of time and WILL get damaged.

Not trying to scare you, but you need to know the nuances of these cars...

I have to agree with the two previous posters, great find!!

Bob.

Registered
Discussion Starter #5