Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Lord of Eagle's Reach
1,511 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, so, i've never done this before and probably made myself look like an idiot, but i went to the track and decided to see what my car can do - i had everything in my car (subs, amps, seats, full tank of gas, papers flying around the back seat - that sort of thing.) and i had no idea what the light sequence was - i just knew i was supposed to go on green :)

i don't have the slips in front of me, but here's what i remember

1st run:
r/t 1.32 (bad, i know)
1/4 13.68
mph 92 (didn't know where the finish line was, so i let off the gas a bit early)

2nd run:
r/t 1.02
1/4 13.62
mph 100

ok, so, the second time, i did a bit better, but both of the people i ran next to moved before the green light, so are you supposed to anticipate or something? ok, any advice on how tracks work would be appreciated. thanks
Matt

·
Lord of Eagle's Reach
1,511 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
oh yeah, i forgot to mention that i knew i was going to get my ass kicked when i stepped out of my car while i was in line to race and the whole place smelled like an airport (everyone running aviation gas and me on my pump gas!)

·
I Want Twin Turbos Too!
1,600 Posts
That is not too bad. I think what you smelled was a bunch of people running no cats and racing (100-octance) fuel. What were your sixty foot times like? Your ET is dependent upon that.

As for launching, just go when you see the second to last light go on. That should get you in the .6 to .8 area. Oh, and the reatcion time has nothing to do with your 1/4 mile time. You could run a 13.5 @100-mph if you had a .4 reaction time or a 50-second R/T. :D Good luck!

·
aint scared of no snake
259 Posts
them times are not that bad at all for a first time! What was your 60' time? good runs, and keep practicing, i suspect lower #'s should come.

·
aint scared of no snake
259 Posts