Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
homeiswheretheturbosare!
341 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can normaly only get into first gear when i'm stoped i dunno if its normal or not and it dosent feel right doing anything in second gear when under 20mph is there something wrongwith my car what should I look at?

1995 VR4 STOCK

·
Registered
683 Posts
First....I'm no mechanic...

I think all the Mitsubishi's I have ever had are that way. I think the inability to throw your car into 1st gear is to protect you /the driver from screwing up your tranny.

I could be wrong......any technically sounds people have a better answer than mine? (I'm sure you do:) )

·
Ero Sennin
290 Posts
i hate that shit too

·
Registered
531 Posts
There is a gate that locks so that you don't accidentally shift to first from any other gear. The downside is that you have to use 2nd sometimes, the upside is that you don't accidentally hit first gear when aiming for 3rd.

Think of first gear just like you'd think of Reverse, you can only go into it if you're stopped. You can go into first if you put in the clutch, let it slow down a little. Just be patient.

·
Lord of Eagle's Reach
1,511 Posts
my 1st gen tranny works like a charm... and then i go drive my gf's 94 and..... i hate that freakin tranny! i'll take my slut shifter (her words :)) over a super-tight-six-speed-that-i-can't-get-into-first-unless-i-am-stopped tranny any day.
Matt

·
Registered
74 Posts
it's your tranny not the car. I thought that two after owning 2 awd gsx eclipses, now i own a gvr-4 and it goes into first at any speed. I really don't think hitting first would be easy without wanting to. the 3/s maybe different but i think lookin to the tranny some. It is nice to be able to hit first when you want second is often too steep for low low speeds. Anyway look into Gm Syncromesh or Bg sycroshift fluids i think they make a world of difference.

·
Registered
81 Posts