Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
723 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think not. I've included a couple of pictures that I took today, and the compressor wheel looks like the 9B one. Before I bought the engine I made sure that the turbos had the correct serial numbers, but it looks like I got 9B's anyway..... :-(

Jspec turbo
Close up

Aren't these 9B's ???

Oh well, at least I now have an engine that runs again! Can't wait to get back on the road!!

·
Lost Soul
6,235 Posts
Those are 13g's i think...I thought the ones with the 12 blades were the 13g's and the 9bs had like 6 blades....I could be wrong :(

-jeff

·
Registered
82 Posts
look like it to me!

The 13gs have the clipped wheel, i think.
Im no expert i might be wrong. thought i would post anyway.
sorry if i wasnt any help.
brandon;)

·
Lost Soul
6,235 Posts
Did you look at the wheels to verify this? While MHI makes and sells its Sport Turbo Upgrade (13G turbos), many aftermarket shops make 13G turbos out of stock 9B turbos. The numbers on the housing will be the sme, while the CHRA and compressor wheel will be upgraded.

Take off the intake pipe to the front turbo and look at the compressor wheel. If there are 12 blades at the same height it is the 9B. If there are 12 blades at staggered heights (may look like 6 blades at some viewing angles) you have the "homemade" 13G. Look at the pics and other info on my web page below.

http://www.geocities.com/lutransys/...-turboguide.htm

·
Aghhhh
9,731 Posts
Those wheels are 9Bs. The G series wheels have staggered height blades. The equal height blades (like the ones in the pics) are B series wheels.

·
Registered
3,985 Posts
Gatecrasher said:
Those wheels are 9Bs. The G series wheels have staggered height blades. The equal height blades (like the ones in the pics) are B series wheels.
so how come his "JSPEC" engine has 9b's, jeff?? i recall u said the jpn gets 13G's... =P

·
Aghhhh
9,731 Posts