Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Friend of mine just picked up a 96 Crown Victoria at an auction that used to be an undercover police car. Still has the spotlight on the side, and the cool chrome hubcaps that stick out and say, "Hey I'm an undercover cop car". Anyways he was talking about how he thinks it's pretty quick and is faster than his 91 Lumina Z-34 auto. We take the cruiser for a spin and I tell him I think the Z-34 is a little faster. I raced the Z-34 a while back and it was pretty close but I steadily pulled away (not fast, but steady, talking 0-85 I had 2-3 car lenghts). Anyways the other night I was coming home from work and I come up to him on the interstate. I pull along side of him and he gets a big shit eating grin on his face so I know he's wanting to go. Well we hit it at 65 and I grab 3rd gear right as I hear his car kick down. By 85 I had a car lenght on him and by 100 I had 4+. I was surprised! After riding in it I knew I could take it but I figured it would be closer than that. Maybe it doesn't have the mods that real cop cars do, but it had those green hoses under hood and a tranny cooler??? I hear the Caprice 9-C1 cars are faster so I'll have to find one of them next. Preferably one that's not being driven by a cop.

Jason

Attachments

·
More Than Meets the Eye
4,632 Posts
The true cop package also includes dual exhasut and a better rear end (3.32 [edit: I <i>meant</i> 3.23] instead of 2.9x I think). They're rated at 15.90s by the magazines with a top speed of 130.

The newer (98+) ones are faster with 20 more HP and a 3.53 rear end. They're rated at 15.7 @ 88.

If somebody could hook me up with a cop ECU for a 93 Crown Vic police car, it'd help me a lot. The "regular" version has a speed limiter at 105 :(

·
Registered
476 Posts