Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1995 mitsubishi 3000gt SL
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm relatively new to the 3000gt platform and havent really done a whole lot v6 rebuilds, but as of recent my 95 has started a knock bad enough for me to park it out front of my appartment and not drive it. Plan is to pull the motor and send the block and heads to have the heads rebuilt and machined, and the block machined possibly bored out and honed. I've got the general knowledge that boring out kn a rebuild is usually a better way to prevent the quick demise of a rebuild, and most websites including 3sx only have .50mm over bore pistons which I don't know much about boring engines but should I just get the block bored out to .50 off the get go? Also what other parts besides new pistons and rings and bearings, and the 60 service parts would I need for a full rebuild top and bottom?

·
SDSU Alumnus
4,068 Posts
If I am understanding your question correctly, then no, the machine shop will need the pistons first before boring. You are getting way ahead of yourself without a teardown and assessment first unless adamant on spending money unnecessarily already.

-sent from my Galaxy Note 9

Reactions: Paul H.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've heard a lot of different ways of going about doing this but what your saying is take the new oversized pistons to the shop before you get it bored out so they can accurately machine the block? And I'm not buying anything until that motor is nothing but a bare block and I know for sure what I need. More so just gathering information and putting a parts list together prioritized to what I need to buy first.

·
Registered
97 Posts