Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3,290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone know any good sources of info about making carbon fiber products?

Thanks for the help,
Lethal
+++++++++++++

·
Registered
3,290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, RW3000GT I will have to dig though that site later.

What I really need is a FAQ or guide on how to produce CF for the total newbie... I know it is not that hard, but I have not found a good step-by-step sites yet.

Lethal
+++++++++++

·
Registered
3,290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I will do that... I have a decent link at home. Just trying to find a more in-depth source.

Lethal
++++++++++

·
Registered
9,645 Posts
we built cf bridges here at UD for an engineering class. wansnt too hard at all. just coat fibers with resin and put into shape you want it. then apply 14,000 lbs of atmospheric pressure (vaccuum bag method) works quite well. our 2lb bridge held a shitload of weight. many many hundreds of times its own. problem is making a mold for our cars...i just dont kno how to do that...and oh yea...getting the CF to look good and go all in one direction

·
Registered
322 Posts
well it shouldn't be much different than molding with fiberglass, and there are a ton of sites about that. make a mold, put fiberglass/cf/kevlar fabric over it, cover with resin, repeat with more layers of fabric and resin, finish and paint.

by the way, what's with the obsession with carbon fiber? yeah it's strong, but if you don't need it's rigidity, why not use cheap fiber glass? carbon fiber fabric is f#@$ing expensive!

·
Registered
3,290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·

·
3kgt Driver
3,505 Posts
i luv the cf look. i'd make my whole car cf if i could. it's the lightest material, no wonder the F1's are so expensive! :)

·
Registered
159 Posts
New SuperStreet has a section dedicated to Carbon Fiber how originated and how it is made, you should check it out

·
3kgt Driver
3,505 Posts