Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
1992 3000gt VR4, Fiji Blue
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Car was sitting and was making clicking sounds, battery died recharged and was able to drive to get gas and came home. Sat for a day and battery died then the car would not crank even after charging battery. Any ideas as to what it could be I am assuming it will be the ignition switch or the starter or safety switch but would like to get some help as I am pretty new to the platform. (Pictures are of rat nest wiring from previous owner under steering column that could possibly be the cause as there are loose connectors)

· Registered
142 Posts
Car was sitting and was making clicking sounds, battery died recharged and was able to drive to get gas and came home. Sat for a day and battery died then the car would not crank even after charging battery.
"Car was sitting and was making clicking sounds".....???? don't know what sitting means...? running/idling.....? key on but engine not running....? key not in ignition. Where was the clicking location ? You need to measure actual battery voltages...."dead and recharged" are just guesses at best. Very very frequently, a "bad" battery has an internal short between two of the six plates, or a dead cell. When running or externally charged or jump started, the battery will recharge to 12.6V+ like normal. Once the charging stops, no matter the process used, the internal voltage begins to drop slowly in those batteries and in an hour/ a few hours, the voltage has dropped to 10ish-mid 11ish volts and cannot crank the starter. So you need to measure the actual voltage when it won't start to see if low voltage is the cause, even if you think it fully charged. Remove battery, take it to auto store and ask them to "load test it". When you rule the battery out, only then should you begin looking for parasitic draws,bad starter, starter circuitry, etc.,

· Registered
11 Posts