Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll preface this by saying I'm still learning how this engine operates, and I'm slowing working through leaks while pressure testing. I'm pretty sure I've got the pressure test setup correctly (using a 3sx adapter), I've plugged the few places I'm supposed to (marked in yellow on my photos below). However, the primary leak is now my BOV (it's just shooting out air as fast as I can put air in). I've read people mention "tighten the BOV", but I have not found any instructions so far... and I'm really wondering if I just need to replace this BOV. Also, I'm seeing some air blow out a vent hole (on the second photo below).

I would love to hear suggestions or thoughts. My gut tells me I'm gonna need a new BOV (or a used one).

·
SDSU Alumnus
3,002 Posts
Nice post with pictures lol!

Some valves are probably just open. If that happened during a leak-down test, then you would want to be concerned. Also, that seems pretty typical of the factory, plastic valve. Inexpensive drop-in upgrades include the metal units from a Lancer Evolution or a 1G DSM with flange adapter. Some aftermarket ones can be found for a good deal.

-sent from my Galaxy Note 9

·
Registered
578 Posts
Start your pressure test by removing the Y-pipe connection to the throttle body and "blocking" that with something. You can usually just use a folded up plastic bag or something and then re-clamp the y-pipe. This isolate the intake track from the TC/plenum/manifold. After fixing those leaks, move forward.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4