Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Crimson Jihad
2,138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After doing some track days on my motorcycle (having a gentle low side this past summer), I want to try auto-x out and maybe do some track days/HPDE. I have been looking at good starter cars recommended by the SCCA and other forums. Here are a few cars that I have found locally, they don't have to be perfect and set the car buying budget to $1500. If you have experience with said cars please chime in, if you have other recommendations please let me know. I am a complete noob with this stuff and have been slowly reading up on expenses and other related things. Just like I did with my motorcycle with no previous experience (scooters don't count), I purchased it super cheap, took it apart and put it back together, modified it and did all the work myself.

1. AW11 MR-2 w/ 4age silvertop swap
- Runs great, low mileage swap, lots of parts cars locally
- Needs rear bumper (dont really care)
- For those who don't know the 4age is a high revving 20v motor out of the toyota levin/sprinter with ITBs, and is a common swap for the AW11

2. Mazda MX-3 w/ KLZE swap
- Runs great, milage unknown and was swapped by previous owner
- Comes with extra set of rims
- KLZE is out of the MX-6 and is a 2.5L V6, which provides a lot more grunt than the stock 4banger.

3. 94+ Mazda Miata is always the answer?
- A few cheap ones locally, but are starting to rust

4. 89 Honda EF/CRX
- A few high mileage stock cars still around, some also suffering from some body rot.
- Really have only seen some nice 1.5Ls, the rest are beat to shit or kitted out.

There are a few more I have looked into, but I just got into work and should probably start doing some lol. Again looking for good cheap starter car that would be good to learn auto-x on and at the same time easy to learn on. All cars mentioned above have very active forums.