Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Money pit owner.
2,544 Posts
well, it sounds like a rod or main bearing to me. how is your oil pressure?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No way to tell it doesnt have a gauge also my oil pressure light doesnt come on when the is running but when I pump my breaks up an down the rpms do the same as if there's a vacum leak.

·
Money pit owner.
2,544 Posts
it's weird because once you've heard a bent valve vs collapsed hydraulic valve lifter vs spun bearing, you can become very good at distinguishing the sounds.

I'm no expert, but that sounded to me more like a bearing than any other noise.

probably would be good to have a library of sounds pinned somewhere because we seem to get the "what does this sound like?" question every couple months.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
At this point I'm all in an refuse to give up! So main or connecting rod you say? I'm confused myself bc the tapping sounds like it's right on top. I hear no tapping on the bottom.

·
Money pit owner.
2,544 Posts
I admit I've not heard a spun bearing sound specifically on a SOHC car. It seems more common on cars that have been over-boosted.
how many miles on your car?

a failing hydraulic timing belt tensioner also rattles too, i assume a SOHC engine has a timing belt tensioner, do you know when the timing belt was changed?

·
Money pit owner.
2,544 Posts

·
Money pit owner.
2,544 Posts
not as many videos with clear sounds of a spun bearing on a SOHC car, for whatever reason. spun bearing seems to be louder and can actually screech a bit, probably from the friction of the metals. i hope to never hear that from my car lol

I have the original 1mm hydraulic lifters in my car and i usually get a bit of lifter tick if the car hasn't been driven in a while, so i cannot easily relate to the guys that have a constant lifter tick.