Speedometer woes - 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center
3000GT/Stealth International 3000GT/Stealth International
 

Ľ Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Ľ Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Modifications and Technical Support > Engine - Turbo

3SI.org is the premier Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2019, 10:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
New User - Please be kind
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
rossb is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Speedometer woes

So when I got my vr4 the only things not working were the tach and the speedometer. I replaced the tach capacitors and it's working fine. The speedometer was working, but was reading 15-20mph too low. I read that the speedo gear gets stripped so I went ahead and ordered one(and decided to upgrade to the 94+ one for better speed accuracy). I got a brand new speedo gear, still in the package, and installed it. I noticed when I pulled the old one out it was not stripped. I figured I already had it out so I might as well put the new one in. Well I put the new on in, it went in very easily, and took a drive and my speedometer didn't work at all. So I went to take the speed sending unit back off and it was stuck, hard. When I finally got it back out the new gear was stripped. I put the old one back in and the speedometer is back to working but still reading 15-20 mph low. The speedo sensor appears to be brand new(previous owner said he replaced it before selling).

This leads me to believe the speedometer itself is bad, but both the odometer and trip odometer work correctly, and as far as I can tell they are one complete unit. I haven't been able to find any threads about fixing the speedometer itself, and I'm hesitant to replace it because I wanna keep the odometer.

Any ideas?
rossb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2019, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
white93gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Drives: '93 na atx 3kgt DOHC
white93gt Level 1white93gt Level 1
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default Re: Speedometer woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossb View Post
....This leads me to believe the speedometer itself is bad, but both the odometer and trip odometer work correctly, and as far as I can tell they are one complete unit. I haven't been able to find any threads about fixing the speedometer itself, and I'm hesitant to replace it because I wanna keep the odometer.

Any ideas?
I assume you know how to get clear cover off cluster assembly since youíve already replaced capacitors in tach. The speedometer pointer just snugly slips onto pin, Iíve read that if you have cluster in place, remove pointer, turn key to on position (power to cluster) and install pointer at zero mph that it will correct reading if speedo is ok. IDK from experience, just recall reading that.
white93gt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2019, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
New User - Please be kind
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
rossb is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Re: Speedometer woes

I seem to have solved the problem, apparently the speedometer capacitors are just as crappy as the tach's. I replaced a 6.8uF25v capacitor and the resistor adjacent to it and it seems to work perfectly now. I took it on the road, fired up waze, and adjusted the needle accordingly.

Last edited by rossb; 05-14-2019 at 06:43 PM. Reason: image wasn't scaled.
rossb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-14-2019, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
Sparkko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: AL
Drives: 92' Stealth R/T TT
Sparkko is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Re: Speedometer woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossb View Post
I seem to have solved the problem, apparently the speedometer capacitors are just as crappy as the tach's. I replaced a 6.8uF25v capacitor and the resistor adjacent to it and it seems to work perfectly now. I took it on the road, fired up waze, and adjusted the needle accordingly.
I wonder if I could fix my speedo this way..... It's always about 5mph off.
Sparkko is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2019, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
New User - Please be kind
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
rossb is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Re: Speedometer woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparkko View Post
I wonder if I could fix my speedo this way..... It's always about 5mph off.
Is it always 5mph consistently? As in at 25 it is showing like 30, and 75 at 70? If so you can just pull the cluster, take of the front plastic but leave the black surround on, and reinstall it. The speedo needle pulls right off, just get to a fixed speed and set it.
rossb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2019, 06:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
Sparkko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: AL
Drives: 92' Stealth R/T TT
Sparkko is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Re: Speedometer woes

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossb View Post
Is it always 5mph consistently? As in at 25 it is showing like 30, and 75 at 70? If so you can just pull the cluster, take of the front plastic but leave the black surround on, and reinstall it. The speedo needle pulls right off, just get to a fixed speed and set it.
Hmmm. I'll give that a shot. Haven't checked the exact accuracy of it at different speeds, but i know it's about 5mph off at 55mph. I'll do some checking to see if it's consistent then pull the gauge. It's only been a minor annoyance for me since I got the car, but it would be very nice if it read properly.
Sparkko is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Modifications and Technical Support > Engine - Turbo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Free email addresses do not work(yahoo, hotmail, gmail,...)
We are currently being blocked by AOL so any AOL based address may not work(aol.com, aim.com, netscape.net, cs.com)
Email Address:
Real Name(First & Last)
(Required/Hidden)
Mailing Address(Street)
(Required/Hidden)
City
(Required/Hidden)
State
(Required/Hidden)
Zip
(Required/Hidden)
Country
(Required/Hidden)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewall woes Fierce Audio/Video Systems 4 02-18-2000 06:43 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2