Looking to buy a 1st gen VR4 - 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center
3000GT/Stealth International 3000GT/Stealth International

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Automotive Discussions > New Member Introductions

3SI.org is the premier Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2019, 10:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
New User - Please be kind

UselessPickles is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Looking to buy a 1st gen VR4

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie from the Metro Detroit area in Michigan.

I made the (great) mistake of purchasing a 1st gen Miata last summer, and it has proven to be a gateway drug. Now I'm looking for a 1st gen VR4 that would pair well with my brother's FD RX-7.

I've already done a lot of lurking and research, and I'm hoping to find a clean red 91-93 VR4, mostly stock, which is either caught up on maintenance, or priced to account for needed maintenance (e.g., I could probably tackle a timing belt and water pump, as well as all fluid changes).

I see that there have been a couple clean examples fully caught up on maintenance, fully functional, with many new parts that have sold for around $7500-8000. But now all I can find on the market is either:
  • Very clean cars with under 60k miles asking $18-22k (overpriced? guessing $12-15k is more realistic, but out of my range)
  • Trash piles asking $4-7k (major cosmetic damage, seats disintegrating, excessively modified, engine problems, etc).