3000GT/Stealth International Message Center - View Single Post - Hot-wire overruns FPR - any easy fixes?
3000GT/Stealth International 3000GT/Stealth International

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   3000GT/Stealth International Message Center

3SI.org is the premier Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
View Single Post
Old 07-29-2008, 01:05 AM   #13 (permalink)
bjmsam
Skeptic

Drives: 94 Stealth TwinTurbo
bjmsam Level 1bjmsam Level 1
Default Re: Hot-wire overruns FPR - any easy fixes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruhaba View Post
I work as an engineer in automotive and frequently work with OEMs in the powertrain field. They are all cost concerned- always. I know many people have hotwired without problems, but you can guarantee mitsubishi did not add logic into the ECU and an extra resistor and relay for nothing($).
Could noise reduction have been the sole justification? The impact on longevity is debatable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highboosted View Post
Too many variables to start guessing on fuel pump life, but pumps are rated at battery voltage. They don't use stepped systems to increase life, they use them to decrease sound. That being said, decreasing voltage MAY increase the life of the pump, and increasing the voltage (beyond normal, ala boost-a-pump) MAY decrease life. There is not enough statistical evidence to make a conclusion, but it is generally known that running a fuel pump beyond 16v (boost-a-pump'd) will decrease it's life somewhat, but how much is unknown because of manufactoring tolorances.
Is the Whinebro as unstable as the Denso through voltage transition? How do the pressure measurements compare?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikGross

MKIV Toyota Supra Fuel Pump Upgrade