Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

best turbos to hit 600whp?

5K views 34 replies 16 participants last post by  93stealthsohc 
#1 ·
so i am just beginning to put my tentative parts list together for ducks rebuild, end goal is 600Whp. so i am trying to find what will be the most cost effective turbos to use.

what i am looking for is

- big enough to hit the goal of 600 but not more than 650
-fit in the stock locations (i can fab up manifolds for it but dont want to relocate)

#6 ·
None of the current turbos have the titanium aluminium turbine wheels.

I'm sure they will work fine, but I am not sure a pair of Chinese EVO IIIs can be compared to DR750s.

Definitely if you want to fab your own headers there are a lot of options out there for less money the 750s. They may not spool the same or be as reliable, but they should hit your power goals.

#8 ·
You can get a full TD05 setup from Hans with TD05 headers, 02 housings, and a downpipe for $1500 which really isn't that bad. FP 68HTA turbos would be nice on a Black Friday sale but you'll never reach their potential at 600whp so Evo3 16Gs would be better. They're at least a lot cheaper to rebuild than the DR turbos.

Whichever option you go with you better go ahead and build the bottom end. Forged pistons minimum to help give you more room for error but I would go aftermarket rods as well if you can afford the money for it. Even a Wiseco BC rod combo will live quite awhile as long as you aren't driving like Ray Pampena lol.

#10 ·
yeah the whole motor is being built as well. forged bottom end, new oil pump, whole timing side with kevlar belt, new valve springs and gen 3 lifters. plus a few other bits where i find required. the motor will be built to take a fair bit more than 600, just dont want to get into gear shattering territory too deep.

the trans and driveline will also be beefed up as well.

#14 · (Edited)