Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

Replaced air filter... Car stopped running right.

1K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  PearlWhiteR/T 
#1 ·
I'm really new to this car. (3000gt vr4)
The car has 16k original miles and is bone stock. I'm going over the car just making sure fluids are fresh ect... I purchased a k&n air filter kit the cone type where you remove the oem air box. Installed it. Now the car won't run right. It sounds like a wrx, not smooth like its not firing on all cylinders. I tested the harness to the maf and everything is good. I went out and bought a new maf 3.0 gm and a translator. The car runs exactly the same which means both maf were good and my new setup will work once I find out what the real problem is.
I'm beginning to think its a coincidence it stopped working the same time I changed the air cleaner. I tried disconnecting the battery. I'm stumped. :(

#2 ·
What? Why not just put the oem filter back on rather than going 3 inch gm and maf if you think it was the air filter. Edit: unless your plan was to get those 2 items anyways haha

I highly doubt changing the filter caused this problem. Probably like you said, coincidence or you unplug something and forgot to put it back on.

Ive had my old sl sound like a wrx when it wasnt having all the cylinders firing. I replaced the ptu for that situation. Yours could vary. There will be more experienced members to help you when they come on and see your post.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

#3 ·
Probably an air leak in the intake system system at the plenum. It is easy to clamp things together and still have a leak where the hoses don't mate properly. A leak after the MAF will cause the computer to search around to find the right air fuel mixture and make your car die or run like crap. If you don't find a leak put the oem set-up back on to rule out other causes. I am guessing it is not a coincidence.

#4 ·