Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

To replace bearings or not?

2K views 25 replies 9 participants last post by  FlyingVR4 
#1 ·
Pulled the trans on my VR4. Bellhousing covered in oil (on the inside), looks like the rear main seal is bad. So, I need to drop the oil pan. Oil pressure is a bit low, oil pump has 30k on it. 176k on engine.

Part of me wants to do the bearings. The theoretical plan was to do a stroker or 74 swap eventually. But the engine is otherwise in good shape. I've read some horror stories about changing the bearings in-car.

Thoughts?

#3 ·
First, do you feel comfortable swapping them?

Second, do you actually have low oil pressure? Stock gauge? Oil weight? Or are we just a 3/s paranoid?

If you can answer those questions honestly then I bet you know your answer.

Coop

#4 ·
1) I don't feel one way or the other. I've never done it before, but I'd also never changed a timing chain before last month on my BMW. But the BMW hasn't exploded yet. The difference here is I've heard a lot of horror stories

2) I may just be a 3/S paranoid. I don't have a real gauge, just the stocker.

I should probably just wait until it's time for a new engine.

#7 ·
Hey, while you have it apart and up in the air you might as well. The oil pump is only half of what makes good oil pressure. Bearings are the rest. They arent hard to change, just time consuming. Put new seals front and back. Keep that synthetic INSIDE the engine.

-SP

#8 ·
Pull the caps and cradle, have a look.

If they look good (post pics you need second opinion) leave well alone.

They were built with select fit bearings from new..

#9 ·
The select fit bearings is one of my questions, is there a way to tell which size I need before ordering or disassembling?

I'm probably a few days or more from having the pan pulled, want to get the flywheel off first, confirm the leaky rear main (pretty certain it's leaky anyway), and need to disassemble the old transmission that I'm parting out.

#11 ·