Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it? - 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center
3000GT/Stealth International 3000GT/Stealth International
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Modifications and Technical Support > Engine - Turbo

3SI.org is the premier Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2005, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
sexy95vr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, CA
Drives: 1995 3000GT VR-4
sexy95vr4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 58 reviews
Default Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

As the title says, the OEM oil pressure gauge took a shit on me. It's now pegged all the way up to the top, and doesnt move at all any more. Yea, I know the gauge isn't the most accurate thing in the world, but I'd still prefer it to work. Anyone know what needs to be replaced to get the gauge working again? Any help would be great. Hopefully it wont be too expensive to fix...

-Allen
__________________

1995 3000GT VR4: 11.70 @ 118.14 mph. 457 awhp. RIP 09/24/05
1997 Lexus SC300: T67 Turbo. 464 rwhp @ 20psi.
sexy95vr4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2005, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Alan92RTTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Drives: 1992 RT/TT
Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

just replace it

Or check the encylopedia forum and see if the tip there on wiring helps.
Alan92RTTT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2005, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Exotics Only
 
AllEyezOnMyVR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Albany NY
Drives: all my toys
AllEyezOnMyVR4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

yeah i would say go ahead and replace it. after all, if it shit the bed the first time, i wouldnt really trust it after that either. oil pressure is huge!
__________________
3000GT VR4 - Sold
2003 Ferrari 360 Modena
2006 Dodge Viper SRT-10
2008 Corvette Zo6- Sold
2010 Escalade
2005 Vette Sold
AllEyezOnMyVR4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2005, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
sexy95vr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, CA
Drives: 1995 3000GT VR-4
sexy95vr4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 58 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

any1 know the part # for the wiring? I remember a while back the wire to the sending unit was sortof cut, and I put it together by hand and put some electric tape around it. CAPS doesnt work for me for some reason... so a part # would be useful. If the wiring isn't too expensive, I might as well buy brand new wires altogether.

Alan- I checked the sending unit a couple days ago (I was already aware of the stuff in the encyclopedia ) and it looked like it was on it- but just covered with a bit of grease. People say that their gauges are pegged at the bottom and dont move; but mine is all the way up top and is stuck... wierd.

Anyway, if anyone could look in CAPS for the part #, or send me a link to download CAPS again, it would be really helpful.

-Allen
sexy95vr4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2005, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Alan92RTTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Drives: 1992 RT/TT
Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3Alan92RTTT Level 3
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

if you have to replace it or the wiring to it you'll probably have to pull the dash. If thats the case, don't waste your time with an OEM guage. Get a real one
Alan92RTTT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2005, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
sexy95vr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, CA
Drives: 1995 3000GT VR-4
sexy95vr4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 58 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

MD133273

Thats the part # some guy gave me from the local mitsu dealership.. but he didnt sound too sure. Could some1 verify this? He said the wiring was about $40- which isnt too bad IMO to get my gauge working again.

Edit- he said this was for the wiring going to the actual sending unit (the thing in the encylopedia). From what I saw, that wire was pretty beat up, and I taped it together about a year ago.

-Allen

Last edited by sexy95vr4; 06-07-2005 at 04:04 PM.
sexy95vr4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2005, 04:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Bar Room Hero
 
bigredlid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: B.F.E., PA
Drives: 1991 Stealth RT/TT
bigredlid is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

check this out

http://www.3sxperformance.com/stock.asp

all the way at the bottom of the page
__________________
bigredlid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2005, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Forum Member
 
sexy95vr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glendale, CA
Drives: 1995 3000GT VR-4
sexy95vr4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 58 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigredlid
check this out

http://www.3sxperformance.com/stock.asp

all the way at the bottom of the page
That's exactly what I was looking for- thanks a lot bro

I went ahead and ordered the harness, pressure sender, and the pressure switch as well. I'll probably receive it sometime next week- hopefully it'll get my gauge to work again. I'll let you guys know how things turn out.

-Allen
sexy95vr4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2005, 07:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Bar Room Hero
 
bigredlid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: B.F.E., PA
Drives: 1991 Stealth RT/TT
bigredlid is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

hey glad i could help. I noticed in your sig that you had DSM intercoolers. Is that an upgrade i could benefit from with stock turbos and a MBC. Is it worth it? In your opinion.
bigredlid is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2005, 09:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
RussianVR-4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
RussianVR-4 Level 1RussianVR-4 Level 1RussianVR-4 Level 1
Feedback Score: 29 reviews
Default Re: Oil pressure gauge doesnt work... how do I fix it?

allen, PLEEEEEEEEEEEEEESE do me a favor and forget about the stock gauge, spend 50 bucks at autozone and get a regular autometer oil pressure gauge. you will thank yourself MANY times down the road. you have a performance car, dont skimp out on something as crucial as an oil pressure gauge, ESPECIALLY knowing these cars' achile's heel.
RussianVR-4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Modifications and Technical Support > Engine - Turbo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Free email addresses do not work(yahoo, hotmail, gmail,...)
We are currently being blocked by AOL so any AOL based address may not work(aol.com, aim.com, netscape.net, cs.com)
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.




Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2