Mitsubishi 3000GT & Dodge Stealth Forum banner

How to check your oil pressure sender

46K views 45 replies 31 participants last post by  RealMcCoy 
#1 ·
#2 · (Edited)
How to check the wiring on your oil pressure sensor.

So this is a common problem with our cars... The oil LIGHT in the dash isn't on, but the Gauge in the middle shows ZERO oil pressure!

Well it happened to me, and I found lots of help when I searched, but I'm a TOTAL newbie when it comes to 3/S's, so I wasn't happy with the pictures I found.

So I took my own, and now I'm posting 'em to help you.
I was told it's an easy fix with your car on a jack or lift, or that I could take the tire off. I didn't have to do EITHER! I just layed down next to the drivers side front tire, and I could SEE and REACH the loose wire. Here's pics.

When I looked, here's the first thing I saw...

Note the wire hanging loose.

If you're disoriented, or have no clue what ANYTHING is, here's the picture again, with the front drivers-side TIRE in the picture, so you can get your bearings. (It's on the right side, you might have to scroll your browser.)

Okay, take that little wire hanging loose, and slide the connecter onto the brass colored little round thing. (It's the oil sender unit). Make it look like THIS:

The tire is in there again, so you can get your bearings.

Here's the final picture, with instructions and all the right parts pointed out with an arrow.

Okay, I hope this helps some newbie someday, and like someone told me... don't you DARE pay to have this one fixed! Do it yourself!

I took these pics myself, and they're of my car, so they're not copyrighted or anything... Feel free to use them if you have a 3/S site with a fix for this problem.

Good luck, everyone, and enjoy your car without worrying about that oil gauge! :)

#30 ·
Re: How to check the wiring on your oil pressure sensor.