6G72 TT in 87 Starion - trying to start finally - 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center
3000GT/Stealth International 3000GT/Stealth International

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Modifications and Technical Support > Advanced Technical Discussions > ECU Tuning

3SI.org is the premier Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2012, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member

Turbo_Addict is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 6G72 TT in 87 Starion - trying to start finally

Hey all,

It's been close to 2 years on this build, but finally got to the point of getting the MS2 installed, wired up, and hopefully ready to breath life into this gal finally. Problem is, I am lost - I am far from an expert when it comes to tuning, especially when it comes to the ignition, so I am reaching out, hopefully won't sound too stupid, and hopefully get it to at least fire and idle sometime soon.

Ok, here is the high level. This is a total custom project that I purchased before it was done, and made some modifications to it. Changed the transmission to a c4 auto (going to be mainly drag car but still street legal), changed the ECU to MS2 customized for use for 3 X GM MSD coil packs, and some other things that really don't matter for the tuning/programming discussion.

Be gentle, I'm a newbie with a LOT of this stuff. hehe

The MS2 was purchased through DIY Autotune and they modified it to work with the MSD coil packs, i.e.:

Here is the list of how the MS2 was built:

The motor has the 92' style sensor on the back of the cam, from what I was told it has the cam angle and crank position in one sensor. It's a 4 wire sensor, power and ground, and what I'd assume is the crank angle and cam positioning signal wires.