Strange Alternator Behavior - 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center
3000GT/Stealth International 3000GT/Stealth International

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Automotive Discussions > General

3SI.org is the premier Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2013, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member

Drives: 92 R/T TT, 95 Spyder
3krazygt Level 13krazygt Level 1
Feedback Score: 57 reviews
Default Strange Alternator Behavior

I'm having a weird issue with my alternator on my 98 SL.

My setups is an alternator that appears to be good and an Optima red top. The car is essentially stock other than I did a Digital Climate Control conversion. I have my degree in electrical engineering and work for a company that does a lot of electrical assembly so I feel I did the conversion properly with quality splices and wire routing. I'm not sure if this issue occurred prior to doing the conversion, since I did the conversion right after buying the car with a blown motor, and hadn't started it until after the motor was swapped.

OK. So here is the behavior that is occurring. With a good battery in, the car starts up great. The car will idle with the voltmeter reading right around 14VDC. Right away this indicates the alternator is working properly, but just to make sure I removed (+) terminal from the battery to ensure the alternator is still working. When I removed it, the car ran normally verifying the alternator was good at idle.

When driving a different behavior occurs. Again when idle the car behaves normally. Then when ever I physically hit the gas, the car drops in voltage. It is apparent on both the voltmeter and visually as lights dim. It drops to approximately the voltage from the battery... so if fully charged (which the optima is brand new and is a fairly beastly battery) 12VDC.