Mystery Misfires after 1-2 min of running - 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center
3000GT/Stealth International 3000GT/Stealth International

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Automotive Discussions > General

3SI.org is the premier Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Forum Member

Jin356b is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Mystery Misfires after 1-2 min of running

I'm trying to finish up my build, but my engine likes to start misfiring 1-2 minutes after I start it. I can usually find the answer to these things by surfing the forums, but i've been working this issue for 2 months without success. The car went from stock to TD05 20Gs, 660cc injectors, new timing belt/tensioner, e-manage ultimate w/stage 3 wiring. The misfiring isn't so bad that the car will stall, but the idle rpm and A/F ratio likes to hunt around. The car runs great when I first start it, then you notice the engine start misfiring. Using the timing light, I can see that some wires fire more inconsistently that others. I've listed below what I've done so far:

-Fixed boomslang harness (1 ign input/output chan was reversed)
-Fixed fuel injector o-ring leak
-Change plugs from platinum to coppers
-New Accel plug wires
-Regapped coppers to .030
-Installed new OEM coil pack
-Tested PTU - ok
-Verified marks on cam gears still line up properly