Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos? - Page 9 - 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center
3000GT/Stealth International 3000GT/Stealth International
 

Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Automotive Discussions > General

3SI.org is the premier Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2013, 11:13 PM   #81 (permalink)
go wakeboarding
 
ncdirtrider249's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kernersville, NC
Drives: 1994 3000gt
ncdirtrider249 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

Oops...forgot to post the video...

__________________
Gone...
ncdirtrider249 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2013, 12:33 AM   #82 (permalink)
GCtech Motorsports
 
GCtech Industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston Texas
Drives: vr4
GCtech Industries is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

Yes this turbos make good power but need to run high boost last time I recall our motors have a tendency to lift the heads at high boost if not fix like Ray does it, so I dont see a stock bottom end 6g72 running twin hx35 full or hybrid making more than 600awhp in the 25-30 psi range I hope im very wrong in my calculations because I have a similar setup altho 3.7 stroker ,but to take advantage anything passed 30 will be killer.
My dsm feels very good with my pump tune@22psi but when I crank it to 35 is a blast yet im running a garrett .82 a/r turbine housing.
Once I head back to the shop I post pictures of my HX35/40pro setup I did clip the turbine wheel 7* to lighten it up a bit.

GCtech Industries is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 12:51 AM   #83 (permalink)
popups FTW
 
eengler2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: St Anthony, IN
Drives: 1992 VR4
eengler2 Level 1eengler2 Level 1eengler2 Level 1
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Default

Head lift fix let people push past the 30psi scary zone and now head studs are letting people push past 35psi. 35ish should work well with a 35 based on DSM results.

I wanted to try twin 35's but the comp covers are so big that I don't think there is any way I can get them to fit on my 3sx td05 kit. Plus BEP td05 housings seem to be harder to come by anymore. 35's spool so soon for their potential that they may not be a bad choice even for a 3.0 at 35ish psi. 3.5 or 3.7 may be better though.

Maybe I should pick a trashed one up off eBay just to see if its possible to fit


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
__________________
1992 Kilder Green VR4 - First 4G swap in a 3S.
eengler2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 12:59 AM   #84 (permalink)
GCtech Motorsports
 
GCtech Industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston Texas
Drives: vr4
GCtech Industries is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eengler2 View Post
Head lift fix let people push past the 30psi scary zone and now head studs are letting people push past 35psi. 35ish should work well with a 35 based on DSM results.

I wanted to try twin 35's but the comp covers are so big that I don't think there is any way I can get them to fit on my 3sx td05 kit. Plus BEP td05 housings seem to be harder to come by anymore. 35's spool so soon for their potential that they may not be a bad choice even for a 3.0 at 35ish psi. 3.5 or 3.7 may be better though.

Maybe I should pick a trashed one up off eBay just to see if its possible to fit


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Forget the BEP housing , if you have access to a local lathe a very simple machining to a T31 stage III Garret T housing will do, yes I know a about the L19 head studs I have those in my DSM but they only come by on a GB order I dont see any shop selling them on their site yet.
On 3sx manifolds you will never make a Holset work these housingas are about 1" bigger in diameter as a T04S Cover no to mention you will have to do a light relocation to the rear A/C line and this is with my custom build manifolds
GCtech Industries is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 02:31 AM   #85 (permalink)
The dark shall be with us
 
Devilmightcry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: MO
Drives: 93' VR4
Devilmightcry is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

i don't think our car would do well with any turbo that is most efficient on high boost. we'll need twin turbo and even if we run 40psi that's about 20psi per turbo which is still below their efficiency. a set of turbos with max efficiency in mid boost is the best for us. but all the off the shelf turbos are made for single turbo and high boost in mind.
__________________
Devilmightcry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 04:15 AM   #86 (permalink)
I'm a Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sydney
Drives: GTO 1996
MichaelMR2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilmightcry View Post
even if we run 40psi that's about 20psi per turbo which is still below their efficiency.
well, that's pretty badly worded lol
__________________
Another Day Another Dollar
MichaelMR2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 11:48 AM   #87 (permalink)
GCtech Motorsports
 
GCtech Industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston Texas
Drives: vr4
GCtech Industries is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilmightcry View Post
i don't think our car would do well with any turbo that is most efficient on high boost. we'll need twin turbo and even if we run 40psi that's about 20psi per turbo which is still below their efficiency. a set of turbos with max efficiency in mid boost is the best for us. but all the off the shelf turbos are made for single turbo and high boost in mind.

uhmm las time I check the only setup you add each turbo pressure is on compound systems, in a twin turbo you just add each turbo flow at a given pressure.
Simple example, if you set up your wastegates at 10psi and run each individual to the turbo pressure source you will get 10psi in the intake manifold not 20psi
GCtech Industries is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 11:49 AM   #88 (permalink)
The dark shall be with us
 
Devilmightcry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: MO
Drives: 93' VR4
Devilmightcry is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

so you are saying both turbo are making 10 psi each?
Devilmightcry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 12:07 PM   #89 (permalink)
GCtech Motorsports
 
GCtech Industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston Texas
Drives: vr4
GCtech Industries is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilmightcry View Post
so you are saying both turbo are making 10 psi each?
Yes sir but they are combining each other flow, say A and B turbos @10psi are flowing 25lb/min each then A+B=50lb/min but the boost remain the same, this is why twin turbo setups require the turbos to be exactly the same on each bank. Unlike compund or sequential systems that turbo size is different.
GCtech Industries is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 12:17 PM   #90 (permalink)
The dark shall be with us
 
Devilmightcry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: MO
Drives: 93' VR4
Devilmightcry is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 19 reviews
Default Re: Anyone using Holset HX35 turbos?

make sence. its like batteries in parallel. same voltage more amp.
Devilmightcry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  3000GT/Stealth International Message Center > Automotive Discussions > General

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the 3000GT/Stealth International Message Center forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Free email addresses do not work(yahoo, hotmail, gmail,...)
We are currently being blocked by AOL so any AOL based address may not work(aol.com, aim.com, netscape.net, cs.com)
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.




Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2